Tags

, ,

I’m reading Psychobabble by Dr Stephen Briers at the moment. The sub heading is ‘Exploding the myths of the self-help generation’. I should hate it, it’s the equivalent of a butcher reading a book on the virtues of a vegan lifestyle. But I don’t.

I don’t like it either as I think Stephen has done what he criticises others of doing throughout the book, but he’s an author and as an author your job is to grab the readers attention and shake him or her around a little. He does the shaky bit well.

So I’m in a funny place. I want to like it, I agree with loads of it, I find the constant need to refer to this research programme and that comprehensive study invasive and dull. I’m intrigued as to what he will say next but find it easy to put down.

In short I think this is a book that needed to be written. There is loads of BS out there that so called self help gurus (hopefully not me?) are peddling and I’m delighted that someone is taking the bull by the horns and challenging the debate.

ImageGet a copy for your library, open your mind and see what YOU think.

Psychobabble by Dr Stephen Briers is published by Pearson

